My French Twist to a Hannukah Party

I got a call in my office from T.G. about a home party celebrating a new home and Hanukkah.  It was going to be 20 friends and it just seemed to much for her to pull it off without my help. I asked her what her favorite cuisine was and she said French. I got off the phone and did a bit of research. I got back to her the next day with two pages of suggestions. It stretched my talents a little.  I am so Sephardi oriented and the French Mediterranean looked to be a little bland for my palate. Boy was I wrong!  I worked French grainy mustard, white wine and shallots.  The flavors were new to me, but I enjoyed the challenge.

T.G. picked the following menu: A French Buffet

A  Classic Cold Potato Salad and Sliced Roast Beef in a Mustard Onion Marinade on a bed of mixed field greens.  The large platter was surrounded by cooked chunks of roasted beets, blanched cauliflower and broccoli and then covered in chives and capers.

French Roasted Herb Chicken- a golden and succulent beautiful chicken cut into eighths.

Oven Roasted Green-beans with gently golden slivered almonds.

India – French Cumin and Garlic Roasted Carrots with seedless grapes and red onion.

Persian Rice with raisins, scallions and black olives with saffron spice and topped with pine-nuts.

Sourdough Homemade Bread Cubes- for the wash station.

French Orange Poached Pears

Sweet Parmiers

The whole party took me 12.5 hours to prepare, cook and pack up for take out.

By 10 p.m. I got an email that it was well received. Then I exhaled…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

